Communication

I do find that I speak to people differently.  One family that is from Jordan I speak softly and slow when I speak to the mother.  I always make sure to be attentive to her because this is how she is with me.  I find that I mirror her behavior and return that behavior out of respect.  On the other hand, I have a mother from Korea and English is her second language.  I find that I speak in very short sentences and loudly to her to make sure she understands.  First, she is not deaf but I find that speak loudly.

I have learned to avoid fake listening.  I have found that it can be harmful as well as embarrassing (Beebe & Beebe, 2011).  I have also learned that it is important to understand that every culture is different and we do not necessarily talk the same to everyone.  Finally, miscommunication between people can occur because of word that has different meanings in different countries.

 

Beebe, S. A., & Beebe, S. (2011). Interpersonal Communication and Diversity: Adapting to Others. In Interpersonal communication; Relating to others (6th ed) (pp. 85-114). Boston: Allyn & Bacon.

Leave a comment