Conflict Resolution

A group of teachers went to dinner and did not invite everyone at the center.  The director took it personally and was very angry.  I personally did not care if I was invited.  As the assistant director, I understand that sometimes the teachers do not include us.  The disagreement I had was the way my supervisor spoke to one of the teachers who went to the dinner.  She verbally snapped at her in the lobby in front of me and some other teachers.  It was unprofessional and I felt bad for the teacher.  If she had been respectful, she could have spoken to the teacher in private and maybe the teacher might have had a positive response.

I actually went and spoke to the teacher just to make sure she was okay.  She was angry and very upset.  I could see it in her.  There was no point to telling the director how the teacher felt because the director would have gone into the classroom and only made things worse.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dorcas Adekola
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 00:05:08

    This is a common conflict that arises among coworkers. I have witnessed this at my job as well.I agree with you that the director should have pulled the teacher aside instead of snapping at her in the hallway. The director’s attitude could have reciprocated the teacher’s response and the conflict could have turned very ugly. You did a great thing by making sure the teacher was alright.

    Reply

Leave a comment